검색

Library Policies

Regulations of the Library

  • Enacted on 11/10/ 2015, Regulation No. 21
  • Wholly Amended on 07/14/2016, Regulation No.107
  • Amended on 22/05/2019, Regulation No.214

Chapter 1 General Provisions

Article 1 (Purpose)
The purpose of these regulations is to provide the matters needed for the operation and management of the Library of the Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (“UNIST”).

Article 2 (Duty)

  • ①  The Library shall develop domestic and foreign academic resources (“Academic Resources”), collect, organize, and preserve them, and provide them to the members of UNIST.
  • ② The Library shall develop and provide education and services that help the ease of use of academic resources and improve the information literacy of members.
  • ③ The Library shall carry out the work needed for the preservation and distribution of research outputs published in UNIST.

Chapter 2 Collection and Management of Academic Resources

Article 3 (Scope of Academic Resources)
The academic resources in these regulations include all types of print and electronic forms related to the learning, education and research activities of the members of UNIST.

Article 4 (Collection of Academic Resources)

  • ① Academic resources shall be collected using the methods of purchase, subscription, donation, exchange, and copying.
  • ② For the collection and preservation of publications in UNIST, all departments shall present at least one copy of items, limited to academic materials, to the Library.
  • ③ Details of the selection and development of academic resources shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Article 5 (Registration and Organization of Academic Resources)

  • ① Bibliographic database shall be made to register and organize collected academic resources for its efficient management and use.
  • ② Details of constructing the bibliographic database for registration, classification, cataloging and shelf management shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Article 6 (Preservation and Disposal of Academic Resources)

  • ① Regular and non-regular library inventory shall be conducted for the management and preservation of academic resources.
  • ② As a result of library inventory, unsuable materials caused by damage, accidental loss and natural loss may be disposed of after deliberation by the Library Committee.
  • ③ Other details on the preservation and disposal of academic resources shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Chapter 3 Use of Academic Resources and Facilities

Article 7 (Opening and Operation Time)

  • ① The Library opens every day except for Lunar New Year holidays and Chuseok holidays. When closing of the libray is unavoidable due to other circumstances, it can be closed by the decision of the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.
  • ② Matters on operation time for the use of facilities and academic resources shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Article 8 (Library User)
A person who falls under one of the following subparagraphs may use the academic resources and facilities of the Library.

  • 1. Faculties, students, staffs, and researchers of UNIST
  • 2. A person who has been approved by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office

Article 9 (Use of Academic Resources)

  • ① Academic resources shall be classified into borrowable materials taken outside the library and electronic resources available online.
  • ② The academic resources in the subparagraphs below are not available for borrowing. However, when the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office approves it, short-term special borrowing shall be possible.
    • 1. Serial Publications
    • 2. References
    • 3. Theses
    • 4. Materials designated by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office
  • ③ Details of the number of materials borrowed, borrowing period, and use of electronic resources by material type and user group shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Article 10 (Suspension of Borrowing)
A person who falls under one of the following subparagraphs may be suspended from borrowing for a certain period of time.

  • 1. Student on a leave of absence
  • 2. Graduate-to-be and completion of prospective degree
  • 3. A person who was asked not to borrow by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office

Article 11 (Return)
The borrowed materials shall be returned within the designated period, and a person who falls under one of the following subparagraphs shall return the borrowed materials immediately

  • 1. When faculties, staffs or researchers use leave of absence or retire
  • 2. When undergraduates use leave of absence, drop out, expulsion, complete the course, or graduate
  • 3. A person goes on an overseas trip whose period is longer than the borrowing period
  • 4. When there is a request for return from the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office

Article 12 (Use of Facilities)

  • ① A person who wants to access the Library and use its facilities shall use the ID card or pass that UNIST has issued.
  • ② A person who has been permitted access by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office may be issued a special use card from the Library.
  • ③ Details of the issuance of the use card in ② shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Chapter 4 Compensation and Restrictions

Article 13 (Compensation)

  • ① A person who lost or damaged the materials shall compensate with the same or equivalent values as the materials. (Amended on 22/05/2019)
    1. A person who damages the materials
    2. A person who loses the materials
    3. A person who does not return the materials more than 100 days designated due date.
  • ② Deleted on 22/05/2019
  • ③ If a student does not fulfill the compensation duty, borrowing is suspended, and the corresponding department may be asked to place limitations on issuing certificates and the process of leave of absence or graduation. (Amended on 22/05/2019)

Article 14 (Restrictions)

  • ① If a person does not return within the designated due date, fines for overdue materials shall be charged. (Amended on 22/05/2019)
    1. Details the fines for overdue materials in ① shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.
    2. If a student does not pay overdue fines, borrowing is suspended, and the corresponding department may be asked to place limitations on issuing certificates and the process of leave of absence or graduation.
  • ② Restrictions on illegal taking out of materials, excessive use of electronic resources, giving the borrowed items or one’s ID card to others, and violation of facility use rules shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Chapter 5 Library Committee

Article 15 (Establishment)
The Library Committee (“Committee”) shall be established to deliberate on major matters on the development and operation of the Library.

Article 16 (Organization)

  • ① The Committee shall consist of five or more faculties whom the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office and President appoints, and the Chairperson shall be the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office. (Amended on 22/05/2019)
  • ② A secretary shall be appointed for the Committee, and the head of the Library Team shall be the secretary. (Amended on 22/05/2019)
  • ③ The term of the Chairperson shall be the period of his/her tenure. The term of committee members shall be two years, and they may serve consecutive terms. (Newly inserted 22/05/2019)

Article 17 (Function)
The Committee shall deliberate on the matters in the following subparagraphs.

  • 1. Matters on the development plans of the Library
  • 2. Matters on the enactment, amendment, and abolishment of the regulations of the Library
  • 3. Matters on the budget
  • 4. Matters on the selection, disposal, and expulsion of academic resources
  • 5. Other matters on the operation of the Library

Article 18 (Meeting)

  • ① Meetings of the Committee shall be held regularly once a year and temporary meetings may be convened by the Chairperson when it is deemed necessary.
  • ② Meetings are held with the attendance of the majority of the registered members, and resolutions are made with the affirmative vote of the majority of members in attendance.
Addendum (11/10/2015)
These Regulations shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Addendum (07/14/2016)
These Regulations shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Addendum (05/22/2019)
Article 1(Enforcement Date) These Regulations shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Article 2(Interim Measures) Regarding matters prior to the enforcement date of these Regulations, it shall be deemed to have been enforced by these Regulations.

Guidelines on the Operation and Use of the Library

  • Enacted on 05/25/2017, Guideline No. 167
  • Amended on 08/17/2018, Guideline No. 214
  • Amended on 09/06/2018, Guideline No. 216
  • Amended on 07/19/2019, Guideline No. 249
  • Amended on 11/28/2019, Guideline No. 277

Article 1 (Purpose)
The purpose of these guidelines is to provide for matters related to the regulations of the Library of Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (“UNIST”) and the items needed for the execution of those matters.

Article 2 (Selection and Development of Materials)

  • ① To effectively support research and learning activities, the selection of materials shall reflect the need for information of members such as professors and students as much as possible.
  • ② The selection of materials may be conducted through adjustment by material type within the same budget item if necessary, considering the budget of the pertinent year.
  • ③ Details of selection by material type are presented in [Table 1]. However, the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office may adjust these if necessary.

Article 3 (Collection of Materials)

  • ① Materials shall be divided according to the collection methods listed in the subparagraphs below.
    • 1. Purchased Materials
    • 2. Donated Materials
    • 3. Exchanged Materials
    • 4. Copied Materials
  • ② Books purchased by research funds (“Research Fund Books”) shall be regarded as purchased materials in Paragraph ①, Subparagraph 1.

Article 4 (Categories of Materials)
Materials shall be categorized into the list below according to contents and forms.

  • 1. Monographs
  • 2. Non-book Materials
  • 3. Serial Publications
  • 4. Electronic Resources
  • 5. Theses
  • 6. References
  • 7. Other Materials

Article 5 (Registration of Materials)

  • ① All purchased materials shall be registered, in principle.
  • ② For research fund books, special detailed registration and operational guidelines shall be applied.
  • ③ Donated, exchanged and copied materials shall be registered only when their value is recognized.
  • ④ Initial letters shall be prefixed to registration numbers by material type for the efficient management of materials.
    • 1. Monographs: UM (UNIST Monograph)
    • 2. Non-book Materials: UN (UNIST Non-book Material)
    • 3. Theses: UT (UNIST Thesis)
    • 4. Accompanying Materials: AM (Accompanying Material)

Article 6 (Organization of Materials)

  • ① The classification of materials shall follow the Library of Congress Classification.
  • ② For cataloging formats, the integrated KORMARC format shall be used for domestic books and MARC21 for foreign books.
  • ③ For cataloging rules, KCR4 and AACR2 are used for domestic books and foreign books, respectively.
  • ④ For author marks, the fifth table (Perfect ‘Ga’ Table) of Lee Jae-cheol’s book number system by Hangeul order and the LC Cutter Table shall be applied to domestic books and foreign books, respectively.
  • ⑤ In the case of references, a location mark Ref. shall be given.
  • ⑥ For completely organized materials, call number labels shall be attached and bibliographic data shall be mapped in RFID tags.

Article 7 (Library Inventory)

  • ① Library inventory shall be conducted to determine if books are lost and adjust incorrectly arranged books on bookshelves.
  • ② Library inventory shall be divided into inventory of the whole library on a 5-year cycle and partial inventory by bookshelf on a one-year cycle. However, the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office may adjust these according to the number of people who read books and the circumstances of the library.
  • ③ Books that need to be supplemented after library inventory shall be purchased immediately.
  • ④ Books that are not found after more than three years shall be withdrawn.

Article 8 (Disenrollment and Discarding of Materials)

  • ① The Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office shall withdraw or discard the materials in the subparagraphs below following the deliberation of the Library Committee. However, in the case of serial publications, the deliberation of the Library Committee can be omitted. (Amended 12/12/2023)
    • 1. Materials that are evaluated as not usable any more due to loss, breakage, stains or damage.
    • 2. Materials that cannot be used any more due to breakage, stains, damage. (materials that can be repurchased)
    • 3. Materials that are judged to have lost value because the contents are too old.
    • 4. Materials that are lost due to unavoidable disasters and accidents or other incidents equivalents to these
    • 5. Among serial publications, cultural magazines and company newsletters where more than two years have passed since their publication
    • 6. The Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office may decide that other materials need to be withdrawn and discarded
  • ② For materials that were decided to be withdrawn and discarded, a list shall be created and approved by a decision maker according to delegation decide arbitrarily regulations of UNIST for the process.
  • ③ The word “discarded” is put on materials that are subject to discarding and then they may be discarded or donated to individuals or groups inside and outside of UNIST

Article 9 (Operation Time)

  • ① The operation time of the Library is presented in [Table 2]. However, the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office may adjust it if necessary.
  • ② The time of service provision which needs the help of staff shall coincide with the regulated working hours of the employees of UNIST.

Article 10 (Number of Borrowed Books and Borrowing Period)

  • ① The number of borrowed books and borrowing period by user group is presented in [Table 3].
  • ② For the borrowed monographs, reservation is possible and the borrowing period may not be extended for reserved books.
  • ③ For borrowed non-book materials, reservation is not possible.

Article 11 (Use of Electronic Resources)

  • ① For all matters related to the use of electronic resources provided by the Library, only the contents that were agreed to in the license contract with publishers shall be applied.
  • ② According to the standards of fair use of electronic resources, a reasonable number of downloads and prints for nonprofit education and research purposes shall be permitted.
  • ③ Standards for violating the fair use of electronic resources are as shown in the subparagraphs below.
    • 1. Downloading and printing a large number of articles within a short amount of time using automatic program or software (Amended 09/06/2018)
    • 2. Downloading and printing of entire specific volumes and issues
    • 3. Excessive downloading and printing that exceeds the range of research purposes (Amended 09/06/2018)
    • 4. Use of downloaded and printed materials for commercial purposes other than an individual’s research
    • 5. Sharing user ID’s or passwords with others (Amended 09/06/2018)
  • ④ Penalties for the violation of the fair use of electronic resources are detailed in the subparagraphs below.
    • 1. As soon as a violation is found, an official caution letter shall be sent to the departments, or research teams of violators. (Amended 08/17/2018)
    • 2. A person with two or more violations shall be limited in accessing the facilities, checking out materials, applying for materials, making reservations, and using the reading room and study room. (Amended 09/06/2018)
    • 3. For a person with three or more violations, an official caution or warning letter shall be sent to the HR department of the violator along with violation evidence materials. (Newly Inserted 08/17/2018)
    • 4. When publishers ask for compensation, violators shall take responsibility.

Article 12 (Issuance of Membership Card)

  • ① A library membership card shall be issued to special members who fall under the subparagraphs below.
    • 1. General Public Membership: A person who is 20 years old or older and went through the prescribed library membership process
    • 2. Spouse of faculty/staff members or students who belong to UNIST (Amended 09/06/2018)
    • 3. Children of faculty or staff members who belong to UNIST
    • 4. Entrepreneurship students or research internship students: A student on a leave of absence for a startup or a student who works as an intern in the laboratory of UNIST faculty members
    • 5. Participants in campus programs: Outsiders or external groups that participate in various education and experience programs held by UNIST
    • 6. Public Service Workers: A person who was called up for duty by Korea’s military service act and is in military service while supporting administrative work in UNIST
    • 7. Employees of resident companies: Executives or employees of industry-university institutions or venture companies that completed their business registration with the address of a location in UNIST
    • 8. Outside Researchers: An individual who belongs to and works for a faculty laboratory of UNIST
  • ② Borrowing policy for the special members is presented in [Table 4].
  • ③ No special members shall use the borrowing reservation and book purchase application service through the library website. When they want to extend the borrowing period they shall visit, call, or send an email to the Library for application.
  • ④ All special members shall prepare a membership application forms. Please refer to Annex No.1 Form, Annex No.2, Annex Form No.3, and Annex No.4 Form, complete the membership registration process with the guidance of the Library, and receive a membership card. (Amended 09/06/2018)
  • ⑤ In the case of general public membership, they shall pay a fixed deposit and card issuance fee with the guidance of the Library in the process of membership registration and the deposit shall be returned once the use card is returned.
  • ⑥ A person who uses the Library shall carry the membership card.
  • ⑦ A person who has lost the membership card shall report that it is missing, be responsible for any issues that occur due to not reporting, and compensate for the loss.

 

Article 13 (Restrictions)

  • ① Restrictions on the use of the Library are listed in [Table 5]. However, the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office may adjust these if necessary.
  • ② The restriction listed in Paragraph ① include but may not limited to; use of all library services, access to library facilities, the borrowing of library materials, reservations and requests for library materials, and use of reading and study rooms.
  • ③ When a person violates the restrictions in Paragraph ① for two or more items at the same time, the highest level of violation shall be applied.
  • ④ When a person violates other items during the restricted period, restrictions on the Library shall be added to the remaining period of time.

 

Article 14 (Overdue fines)

  • ① The overdue period shall be from the day following the designated borrowing period to the day on which the overdue materials are returned. Standards for Overdue fines are as shown in the subparagraphs below. (Amended 11/28/2019)
    1. Overdue fines: 100KRW per material per day
    2. Overdue fines for ‘Course Reserves’ books: 200KRW per book per hour
    3. Overdue fines for recalled books: 500KRW per book per day
  • ② Anyone who fails to return overdue materials shall be given limited access to library facilities including reading room, study room, library services, and library materials.
  • ③ The overdue fines do not exceed 50,000won per book. (Newly inserted 12/12/2023)

 

Article 15 (Others)Details that are not specified in these guidelines shall be decided separately by the Dean of Academic Information Affairs Office.

Addendum (05/25/2017)
Article 1 (Enforcement Date) These Guidelines shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Addendum (08/17/2018)
Article 1 (Enforcement Date) These Guidelines shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Addendum (09/06/2018)
Article 1 (Enforcement Date) These Guidelines shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Addendum (07/19/2019)
Article 1(Enforcement Date) These Regulations shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Article 2(Interim Measures) Regarding matters prior to the enforcement date of these Regulations, it shall be deemed to have been enforced by these Regulations.
Addendum (11/28/2019)
Article 1(Enforcement Date) These Regulations shall enter into force on the date the President grants approval.
Article 2(Interim Measures) Regarding matters prior to the enforcement date of these Regulations, it shall be deemed to have been enforced by these Regulations.
Addendum (12/12/2023)
Article 1(Enforcement Date) These Regulations shall take effect from date of promulgation.
Article 2(Interim Measures) The amendments to Article 14, paragraph 3 apply to outstanding overdue fines as well as overdue fines incurred in the future.