Databases

Databases(Web DBs) are collections of scholarly materials which are very useful tools for researchers to search and find relevant resources for their literature study. It contains bibliographical information or full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, magazines, reports, etc. in specific subjects.

 

The UNIST Library subscribe to about 58 databases in 2020 to support all UNIST members in their studies, research and teaching.

Through library’s Database menu, users can browse and access variety databases by title and subject.

(It includes primary free databases also.)

 

※ Primary Databases by Type

1) Journal Package (Full Text): ScienceDirect, Wiley, Springer, Nature eJournals, Scinece(AAAS),  IEEE, ACS, RSC, AIP, T&F, etc.

2) Abstract & Index (+ Full Text): EBSCOhost ASC/BSC, ProQuest Central, MathSciNet, etc.

3) Citation Index: Scopus, Web of Science

4) Specific Information: Chemical Substance & Reactions(SciFinder, Reaxys), Standards(ASTM, KS), Patents(WIPS ON), JCR(Journal Impact Factor), etc.

 

Policies of Using E-Resources    Off-Campus Access

Notice

  • : 2020-01-01 13:43 ~ 2020-03-31 01:01 CSD 2020 버전은 4월부터 이용 가능하며, 2019 버전 다운로드를 원할 경우 도서관으로 문의하세요. The 2020 software will be available from April, 2020. If you want to download the 2019 software, please contact to the library. (yeon0517@unist.ac.kr)
  • : 2020-01-01 13:43 ~ 2020-12-31 13:55 2020년부터 IOP 플랫폼 통해 이용 가능 / Available via IOP journal platform from 2020
  • ABI/INFORM by ProQuest Central

    A comprehensive business database which part of the ProQuest Central

    Details Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: Business, Economics

    Provider: ProQuest

    • ABI/INFORM Complete is a comprehensive business database containing thousands of journals. The combination of products forms a business database package that offers full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

    • It is part of the ProQuest Central Database.

  • arXiv (Free)

    A highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, etc.

    Details Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Open Access Repository (Free, Preprint)

    Subject: Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics

    Provider: Cornell University Library

    • arXiv.org is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. (about 1,482,154 e-prints in December, 2018.) It is maintained and operated by the Cornell University Library with guidance from the arXiv Scientific Advisory Board and the arXiv Member Advisory Board, and with the help of numerous subject moderators.

  • Business Source Complete (BSC)

    A business research database which includes journals in marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

    Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: Business & Economics

    Provider: EBSCO Information Services

    • Business Source Premier is a business research database which includes journals in marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It also includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

    • Full text of Harvard Business Review is available

  • Compustat via WRDS (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    A database of financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies (Available via WRDS platform)

    How to use Details User Registration Link
    How to use

    • Available via WRDS platform.
    • UNIST members need to create an account to use WRDS databases and the user account must be created with UNIST email address.
    ※ Contact: Office of BA (052-217-3667, dyhan@unist.ac.kr)

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    Subject: Economics, Finance

    Provider: Standard & Poor’s

    • Compustat is a database of financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items on more than 24,000 publicly held companies.
    • UNIST members can use North America pack(North America, Historical, Bank) and Execucomp.

    ※ Available via WRDS platform and user account is required.

  • CRSP via WRDS (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    The most comprehensive collection of security price data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. (Available via WRDS)

    How to use Details User Registration Link
    How to use

    All UNIST members need to create an account to use WRDS databases.
    The user account must be created with UNIST email address.
    ※ Contact: Office of BA (052-217-3667, dyhan@unist.ac.kr)

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    Subject: Economics, Finance

    Provider: Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)

    • The Center for Research in Security Prices maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases.

    • UNIST members can use 2 data modules – 1) CRSP 1925 US Stock Database 2) CRSP/COMPUSTAT Merged Database (CCM)

    ※ Available via WRDS platform and user account is required.

  • DataGuide (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    The country’s best investment analysis system offered by FnGuide

    How to use Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use

    ※ Install software on your PC
    1) Access the database and click the ‘Program certification and installation’
    2) ID/PW Info Request: Office of BA (052-217-3667, dyhan@unist.ac.kr)

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    Subject: Economics, Finance

    Provider: FnGuide

    • DataGuide is the investment analysis program which can effectively inquire about, edit and use the data related to finance such as stock, financial affairs and economy.

    ※ Install software on your PC

  • De Gruyter e-Journal HSS Collection

    Available about 250 journals in humanities and social sciences published by De Gruyter

    Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use
    Details

    • Type: Journal Package
    • Subject: Social Sciences and Humanities
    • Provider: De Gruyter
    • The academic publisher De Gruyter can look back at a company history of over 260 years.Today, the De Gruyter group publishes over 1,300 new titles each year in the humanities, social sciences, STM and law. UNIST members can access about 250 journals in HSS(Humanities and Social Sciences).

    ※ This journal package is sponsored by KERIS(Korea Education & Research Information Service,한국교육학술정보원).

  • Emerald Specialist Collection (via RISS)

    Available about 110 journals via RISS platform in Economics, Library Studies, Education, Health & Social Care published by Emerald

    How to use Details
    How to use

    • Available via RISS Platform and users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically certification.
    • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website-> RISS Home > 해외DB통합검색
    • Available for 24 hours

    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: Economics, Library Studies, Education, Health & Social Care

    Provider: Emerald Publishing

    • Emerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. Founded in 1967, Emerald today manages a range of digital products, a portfolio of nearly 300 journals. UNIST members can access 110 journals related ‘Accounting, Finance & Economics’, ‘Library Studies’, ‘Education’, and ‘Health & Social Care’.

    ※ This journal package is sponsored by KERIS(Korea Education & Research Information Service,한국교육학술정보원).

    ※ Available only RISS Platform for 24 hours.

  • Eventus via WRDS (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    Eventus provides event studies using data read directly from CRSP stock databases (Available via WRDS)

    How to use Details User Registration Link
    How to use

    • Available via WRDS platform.
    • UNIST members need to create an account to use WRDS databases and the user account must be created with UNIST email address.
    ※ Contact: Office of BA (052-217-3667, dyhan@unist.ac.kr)

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    • Subject: Economics, Finance

    Provider: Cowan Research, LC

    • Eventus Software performs event studies using data directly from CRSP stock databases or pre-extracted from any source. The web interface for running Eventus provides control over the main elements involved in an event study, such as the request file, the estimation period, the cumulative return windows and a choice of raw, market adjusted or market model abnormal returns. As well, you may choose among different statistical tests.

    ※ Available via WRDS platform and user account is required.

  • KSDC(Korean Social science Data Center) DB (한국사회과학데이터센터, via RISS)

    A wide-ranging collection of survey data and aggregate data originally produced by various organizations in Korea (Available via RISS)

    How to use Details
    How to use

    • Available via RISS Platform. (RISS Home > 해외전자자료검색 > 개별검색 DB > KSDC DB)
    • Users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification.
    • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website.
    ※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day

    Details

    Type: Database (Statistics, Survey data)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Korean Social science Data Center

    • The KSDC DB is wide-ranging collection of survey data and aggregate data originally produced by various organizations including public sectors, research institutions, and the media, and all compiled by the KSDC.

    ※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day via RISS web site.

  • NBER Working Papers

    A collection of NBER research papers which have not undergone the review accorded official NBER publication

    Details
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: Economics

    Provider: National Bureau of Economic Research

    • The NBER(National Bureau of Economic Research) is the nation’s leading nonprofit economic research organization. NBER Working Papers is a collection of NBER research papers which have not undergone the review accorded official NBER publication. Papers are preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before publication. UNIST memebers can access to working papers and books by NBER.

  • Nexis Uni (The new platform of the 'LexisNexis Academic')

    A research database which includes critical news, legal and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies

    Details
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: Law, Business, etc.

    Provider: LexisNexis

    • Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) is a research database which includes critical news, legal and business information on over 80 million U.S. and international companies. It includes comprehensive and authoritative news content, including current coverage and deep archives and extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790.

  • Oxford University Press Journals (OUP)

    Details Manual(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: All Subjects (Full Collection)

    Provider: Oxford University Press

    • Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. It furthers the University’s objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by publishing worldwide. The OUP publishes scholarly journals in various fields such as arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics and social sciences. UNIST members can access abot 278 titles form 1996 to the present.

  • PASSPORT(BA, 경영학부 DB)

    Passport from Euromonitor International sets the standard for global market analysis.

    How to use Details Manual(Kor) Manual(Eng)
    How to use

    ※ User account is required.
    ※ Using a database and creating user account is only possible in the BAB & IUCC IP ranges.

    Details

    • Type: Database (Specific Data)

    • Subject: Business & Economics

    • Provider: Euromonitor

    • Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping our clients analyse market context and identify future trends impacting businesses globally.

     

    ※ User account is required.

    ※ Using a database and creating user account is only possible in the BAB & IUCC IP ranges.

  • ScienceDirect

    Available about 2,600 journals in all subjects published by Elsevier, the world’s leading STM publisher

    Details Manual(Kor) Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Elsevier

    • ScienceDirect is the world’s leading full text online platform by global publisher Elsevier. It contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. UNIST members can access more than 2,600 journals in 2019.

    ※ If you cannot access journals on the ScienceDirect platform which you think should be available, please change your web browser or clear your web browser’s cache, cookies and history.

  • Thomson Reuters 13F Filings via WRDS (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    Institutional details and examples of 13F data provided by Thomson Reuters (Available via WRDS)

    How to use Details User Registration Link
    How to use

    • Available via WRDS platform.
    • UNIST members need to create an account to use WRDS databases and the user account must be created with UNIST email address.
    ※ Contact: Office of BA (052-217-3667, dyhan@unist.ac.kr)

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    Subject: Economics, Finance

    Provider: Thomson Reuters
    • Institutional Common Stock Holdings and Transactions, as reported on Form 13F filed with the SEC by institutional managers with $100 million or more in Assets Under Management.
    ※ Available via WRDS platform and user account is required.

  • Trade and Quote (TAQ) via WRDS (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    Available trade & Quote data for all securities listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NMS (Available via WRDS)

    How to use Details User Registration Link
    How to use

    • Available via WRDS platform.
    • UNIST members need to create an account to use WRDS databases and the user account must be created with UNIST email address.
    ※ Contact: Office of BA (052-217-3667, dyhan@unist.ac.kr)

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    Subject: Economics, Finance

    Provider: NYSE (The New York Stock Exchange)

    • The Trade and Quote(TAQ) database contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and Small Cap issues.

    ※ UNIST members can douwnload daily TAQ data from 2003 to 2019 by SAS format via WRDS.

    .※ Available via WRDS platform and user account is required.

  • TS2000 (상장협DB) (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    Total korean company information system provided by Korea Listed Companies Association (Install the software)

    How to use Details
    How to use

    ※ Install software on your PC
    – Access the database and click the ‘TS2000’ Executed button and install ‘TPLSvc_Setup’ file.

    ※ How to use

    1. Select Company: Initial stage to select among KOSPI, KOSDAQ, or external audit corporation and to distinguish into data and terms to extract outcome.
    2. Select Data: Select necessary data of company of provided term from Select Company.
    3. Select Terms and Condition: From Select Company and Select Data, select terms and print condition.
    4. Outcome: Execute terms and conditions selected to be printed out in Excel format and to be saved.

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    Subject: Business & Economics, Finance

    Provider: Korea Listed Companies Association (한국상장회사협회)

    • TS2000 (Total Solution 2000, 상장협DB) is total korean company information system. The various information of any company (KOSPI, KOSDAQ and external audit corporation) can be extracted and downloaded as the various forms of analysis data depending on the selection of a user.

  • Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) (BA, 경영학부 DB)

    A web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania (User account is required)

    How to use Details User Registration Link
    How to use

    All UNIST members need to create an account to use WRDS. The user account must be created with UNIST email address.
    ※ Contact: Office of BA (052-217-3667, dyhan@unist.ac.kr)

    Details

    Type: Database (Specific Data)

    Subject: Business & Economics

    Provider: The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania

    • Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is a web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. WRDS provides the user with one location to access over 200 terabytes of data across multiple disciplines, such as Accounting, Banking, Economics, Finance, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics.

    ※ User account is required.

  • Wiley Online Library

    Available about 1,469 journals in all subjects published the world’s publisher Wiley

    Details User Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Wiley

    • Wiley Online Library hosts the world’s broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals. The UNIST members can access more than 1,469 journals includes Angewandte Chemie.

Ask a Librarian