Databases

Databases(Web DBs) are collections of scholarly materials which are very useful tools for researchers to search and find relevant resources for their literature study. It contains bibliographical information or full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, magazines, reports, etc. in specific subjects.

 

The UNIST Library subscribe to about 58 databases in 2020 to support all UNIST members in their studies, research and teaching.

Through library’s Database menu, users can browse and access variety databases by title and subject.

(It includes primary free databases also.)

 

※ Primary Databases by Type

1) Journal Package (Full Text): ScienceDirect, Wiley, Springer, Nature eJournals, Scinece(AAAS),  IEEE, ACS, RSC, AIP, T&F, etc.

2) Abstract & Index (+ Full Text): EBSCOhost ASC/BSC, ProQuest Central, MathSciNet, etc.

3) Citation Index: Scopus, Web of Science

4) Specific Information: Chemical Substance & Reactions(SciFinder, Reaxys), Standards(ASTM, KS), Patents(WIPS ON), JCR(Journal Impact Factor), etc.

 

2020 eResources@UNIST Library (202001)

 

Policies of Using E-Resources    Off-Campus Access

Notice

  • : 2020년부터 IOP 플랫폼 통해 이용 가능 / Available via IOP journal platform from 2020
  • : CSD 2020 버전은 4월부터 이용 가능, 2019 버전 다운로드를 원할 경우 도서관으로 문의(yeon0517@unist.ac.kr) 또는 포탈 > 소프트웨어 다운로드 메뉴 참조 / The 2020 software will be available from April, 2020. If you want to download the 2019 software, please contact to the library (yeon0517@unist.ac.kr) or refer to Software Download menu on the UNIST Portal.
  • : 기존 LexisNexis Academic 데이터베이스의 신규 플랫폼 / The new platform of the LexisNexis Academic
  • Academic Search Complete (ASC)

    A multi-disciplinary full text database by EBSCO which containing nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed journals with no embargo

    Details Manual(Kor) Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    • Type: Database (Abstract & Index, Full Text)
    • Subject: All subjects
    • Provider: EBSCO Information Services

    • Academic Search Complete(ASC) is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing journal articles in computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.

    • More than 6,400 active full-text journals and magazines, nearly 4,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo.

  • Academic Video Online (AVON)

    A multidisciplinary collection of videos including more than 50,000 scholarly videos

    Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use
    Details

    • Type: Database (Video)

    • Subject: All subjects

    • Provider: Alexander Street, ProQuest

    • Academic Video Online(AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With thousands of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. AVON allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. It can be also searched on ProQuest Central platform.

    ※ This database is sponsored by KERIS(Korea Education & Research Information Service,한국교육학술정보원).

  • Britannica Academic

    Online database of the Britannica Encyclopedia (English Edition)

    Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use
    Details

    • Type: Database (Encyclopedia)

    • Subject: All Subjects

    • Provider: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc., The Editor

    • Online database of the Britannica Encyclopedia (English Edition)

  • Digital Dissertations on Demand (DDOD) (via RISS)

    A collection of doctoral dissertations published by top 30 universities in North America (Available via RISS)

    How to use Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use

    • Available via RISS Platform. (RISS Home > 해외DB통합검색)
    • Users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification.
    • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website.
    ※ Available Time
    1) Search: 24 hours
    2) Full Text Download: from 4 pm until 9 am the next day

    Details

    Type: Database (Dissertations Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: ProQuest

    • Digital Dissertations on Demand(DDOD) is a collection of doctoral dissertations published by top 30 universities in North America since 1999. Searching and reading abstracts are available and 17 million full-text are available to download via RISS.

    ※ Searching is available for 24 hours via RISS.

    ※ Full Text downloading is only available from 4 pm until 9 am the next day via RISS web site.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) (Free)

    An online open access journal directory that provides access to about 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.

    Details
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Open Access Repository (Free, OA Journals)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Lund University Libraries

    • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

  • EBSCOhost Databases

    An integrated platform which includes all EBSCOhost databases

    Details
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index, Full Text)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: EBSCO Information Services

    • EBSCOhost is a comprehensive database platform which includes abstracts, indexes and full text of scholarly materials. UNIST members can do integrated search by combining various databases published by EBSCO (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Energy & Power Source, Ergonomics Abstracts, ERIC, PsycARTICLES and eBook Collection, etc.)

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

    A collection of premier reference books in all subjects published by Gale

    Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Gale

    • Gale Virtual Reference Library offers a collection of premier reference books that you can view and search online.

    ※ This database is sponsored by KERIS(Korea Education & Research Information Service,한국교육학술정보원).

  • Journal Citation Report (JCR)

    A journal evaluation database which provides annually Journal Impact Factor and other indicators

    Details Manual(Kor) Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    • Type: Database (Journal Evaluation)

    • Subject: All Subjects

    • Provider: Clarivate Analytics (formerly known as Thomson Reuters)

    • Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a collection of data to evaluate world’s leading journals. It offers 2-year and 5-year Impact Factor, Rank-in-Category tables, Journal Self-Citations, etc. based on citation data. UNIST members can access JCR data from 2007 to the present.

  • National Geographic Virtual Library

    An online database of National Geographic magazine which includes magazine archives from 1888 to present

    Details
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Gale

    • National Geographic Virtual Library is an electronic version of National Geographic magazine. It includes magazine archives from 1888 to present. Current issues are available after 1 month of the date of publication.

  • Oxford University Press Journals (OUP)

    Details Manual(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: All Subjects (Full Collection)

    Provider: Oxford University Press

    • Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. It furthers the University’s objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by publishing worldwide. The OUP publishes scholarly journals in various fields such as arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics and social sciences. UNIST members can access abot 278 titles form 1996 to the present.

  • ProQuest Central

    A multi-disciplinary full text database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, etc. in all subjects

    Details Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: ProQuest

    • ProQuest Central is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Subject coverages are business and economics, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law and women’ s studies, etc.

  • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) (via RISS)

    The world’s most comprehensive bibliographic database of master’s and doctoral dissertations (Available via RISS)

    How to use Details Manual(Kor)
    How to use

    • Available via RISS Platform. (RISS Home > 해외DB통합검색)
    • Users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification.
    • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website.
    ※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day

    Details

    Type: Database (Theses Abstract & Index)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: ProQuest

    • ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) is the world’s most comprehensive collection of master’s and doctoral dissertations published by more than 1,500 academic institutions in North America, Europe, Asia since 1637. Dissertations published from 1997 are available to view first 24 pages.

    ※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day via RISS web site.

  • SAGE Journals

    Available about 690 journals in all subjects published by SAGE, the world’s 5th largest journals publisher

    Details
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: SAGE Publishing

    • SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. It includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. UNIST members can access more than 690 journals from 1999 to the present.

  • ScienceDirect

    Available about 2,600 journals in all subjects published by Elsevier, the world’s leading STM publisher

    Details Manual(Kor) Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Elsevier

    • ScienceDirect is the world’s leading full text online platform by global publisher Elsevier. It contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. UNIST members can access more than 2,600 journals in 2019.

    ※ If you cannot access journals on the ScienceDirect platform which you think should be available, please change your web browser or clear your web browser’s cache, cookies and history.

  • SciVal

    A research performance assessment tool which uses data from Scopus, citation database by Elsevier (User account is required)

    How to use

    All UNIST members need to create an account to access SciVal.
    – on campus (UNIST IP range), by your UNIST email address
    – Scopus, ScienceDirect, Reaxys and Mendeley accounts are also available.

    Details

    Type: Database (Research analysis)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Elsevier

    • SciVal is a research performance assessment tool which uses data from Scopus. It provides more advanced bibliometric measures and it also allows you to benchmark individual researchers, groups of researchers and institutions based on a variety of different metrics.

    ※ Chrome or Firefox is recommended.

  • Scopus

    The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature provided by Elsevier

    How to use
    Details

    Type: Database (Citation Index)

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Elsevier

    • Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

  • Wiley Online Library

    Available about 1,469 journals in all subjects published the world’s publisher Wiley

    Details User Guide(Eng)
    How to use
    Details

    Type: Journal Package

    Subject: All Subjects

    Provider: Wiley

    • Wiley Online Library hosts the world’s broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals. The UNIST members can access more than 1,469 journals includes Angewandte Chemie.

Ask a Librarian