Databases(Web DBs) are collections of scholarly materials which are very useful tools for researchers to search and find relevant resources for their literature study. It contains bibliographical information or full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, magazines, reports, etc. in specific subjects.
UNIST members can browse and access databases(including primary free databses) by the title and subject.
※ Primary Databases by Type
1) Journal Package (Full Text): ScienceDirect, Wiley, Springer, Nature eJournals, Scinece(AAAS), IEEE, ACS, RSC, AIP, T&F, etc.
2) Abstract & Index (+ Full Text): EBSCOhost ASC/BSU, ProQuest Central, MathSciNet, etc.
3) Citation Index: Scopus, Web of Science
4) Specific Information: Chemical Substance & Reactions(SciFinder, Reaxys), Standards(ASTM), Patents(WIPS ON), JCR(Journal Impact Factor), etc.
2024 eResources@UNIST Library
Policies of Using E-Resources Off-Campus Access Online Tutorials
A scholarly periodicals archive database in humanities and social sciences (available from the first issue to 2000)
• Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)
• Subject: Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences
• Provider: ProQuest
• Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive database that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically. PAO KERIS Collection contains the full backfiles of over 430 journals, digitized from volume 1, issue 1. Coverage for most titles runs to the end of 2000 or the final issue (whichever is first)
※ This database is sponsored by KERIS(Korea Education & Research Information Service,한국교육학술정보원).
Free access to 7 Open Access Journals include ‘PLOS ONE’ published by PLOS
• Type: Open Access Repository (Free, OA Journals)
• Subject: Medicine, Life Sciences, etc.
• Provider: Public Library of Science (PLOS)
• PLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication. PLOS publishes a suite of seven peer-reviewed Open Access journals featuring quality research, expert commentary and critical analysis across all areas of science and medicine. All journals published by PLOS are free.
Available Proceeding of National Academy of Science(PNAS), one of the world’s most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals. from first issue to current
• Type: Journal Single
• Subject: Multidisciplinary Science
• Provider: National Academy of Sciences
• Proceeding of National Academy of Science(PNAS) is one of the world’s most-cited and comprehensive multidisciplinary scientific journals. It publishes cutting-edge research, science news, commentaries, review, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the National Academy of Sciences.
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, etc. in all subjects
• Subject: All Subjects
• ProQuest Central is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Subject coverages are business and economics, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law and women’ s studies, etc.
The world’s most comprehensive bibliographic database of master’s and doctoral dissertations (Available via RISS)
• Available via RISS Platform. (RISS Home > 해외DB통합검색) • Users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification. • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website. ※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day
• Type: Database (Theses Abstract & Index)
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) is the world’s most comprehensive collection of master’s and doctoral dissertations published by more than 1,500 academic institutions in North America, Europe, Asia since 1637. Dissertations published from 1997 are available to view first 24 pages.
※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day via RISS web site.
Available about 3,466 journals which indexed on the MEDLINE database (Available via RISS)
• Available via RISS Platform. (RISS Home > 해외전자자료검색 • Users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification. • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website. ※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day
• Subject: Medicine
• ProQuest Medical Library(PML) provides a strong, stable foundation for any library wishing to build and expand its clinical and biomedical journal collection. The database includes all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to medical research.
A database of full-text peer-reviewed articles published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals (Available via EBSCOhost)
• Subject: Psychology
• Provider: EBSCO Information Services
• PsycARTICLES is a platform of full text of scholarly journals in psychology published by American Psychological Association (APA) and related organizations
A free bibliographic database which provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM’s database of citations and abstracts in life sciences and medicine
• Type: Open Access Repository (Free, Abstract & Index)
• Subject: Life Sciences, Medicine
• Provider: National Center for Biotechnology Information, U.S. National Library of Medicine
• PubMed is a bibliographic database which comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine
• Provider: National Library of Medicine (NLM)
• PubMed Central(PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM). In keeping with NLM’s legislative mandate to collect and preserve the biomedical literature, PMC serves as a digital counterpart to NLM’s extensive print journal collection. Launched in February 2000, PMC was developed and is managed by NLM’s National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Ask a Librarian