Databases(Web DBs) are collections of scholarly materials which are very useful tools for researchers to search and find relevant resources for their literature study. It contains bibliographical information or full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, magazines, reports, etc. in specific subjects.
UNIST members can browse and access databases(including primary free databses) by the title and subject.
※ Primary Databases by Type
1) Journal Package (Full Text): ScienceDirect, Wiley, Springer, Nature eJournals, Scinece(AAAS), IEEE, ACS, RSC, AIP, T&F, etc.
2) Abstract & Index (+ Full Text): EBSCOhost ASC/BSU, ProQuest Central, MathSciNet, etc.
3) Citation Index: Scopus, Web of Science
4) Specific Information: Chemical Substance & Reactions(SciFinder, Reaxys), Standards(ASTM), Patents(WIPS ON), JCR(Journal Impact Factor), etc.
2024 eResources@UNIST Library
Policies of Using E-Resources Off-Campus Access Online Tutorials
A multi-disciplinary full text database by EBSCO which containing nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed journals with no embargo
• Type: Database (Abstract & Index, Full Text) • Subject: All subjects • Provider: EBSCO Information Services
• Academic Search Complete(ASC) is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing journal articles in computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, etc.
• More than 6,400 active full-text journals and magazines, nearly 4,000 active full-text peer-reviewed journals with no embargo.
A multidisciplinary collection of videos including more than 50,000 scholarly videos
• Type: Database (Video)
• Subject: All subjects
• Provider: Alexander Street, ProQuest
• Academic Video Online(AVON) is a multidisciplinary collection of videos that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With thousands of thousands of titles available now and 400 new titles per month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. AVON allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world. It can be also searched on ProQuest Central platform.
※ This database is sponsored by KERIS(Korea Education & Research Information Service,한국교육학술정보원).
Online database of the Britannica Encyclopedia (English Edition)
• Type: Database (Encyclopedia)
• Subject: All Subjects
• Provider: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Inc., The Editor
• Online database of the Britannica Encyclopedia (English Edition)
Available about 400 journals published by Cambridge University Press
Available to access Journal of Fluid Mechanics(JFM) backfile(1956~)
• Type: Journal Package
• Subject: All Subject
• Provider: Cambridge University Press
• Cambridge University Press is a department of the University of Cambridge and is both an academic and educational publisher. The UNIST Library subscribes to it’s STM(Science & Technology, Medicine) journal package in 2018 so UNIST members can access more than 150 journals.
Available about 1,400 Korean journals in all subjects published by Korean societies
• Type: Journal Package • Subject: All Subjects • Provider: NuriMedia • DBPIA is a journal platform which includes about 1,400 journals published by Korean societies in various fields. UNIST members can get full-text of scholarly materials in all subjects.
Available about 350 journals in humanities and social sciences published by De Gruyter
• Type: Journal Package • Subject: All Subject • Provider: De Gruyter • The academic publisher De Gruyter can look back at a company history of over 260 years.Today, the De Gruyter group publishes over 1,300 new titles each year in the humanities, social sciences, STM and law. UNIST members can access about 350 journals in HSS(Humanities and Social Sciences) and STM Collection.
※ This journal package is sponsored by KERIS(Korea Education & Research Information Service,한국교육학술정보원).
A collection of doctoral dissertations published by top 30 universities in North America (Available via RISS)
• Available via RISS Platform. (RISS Home > 해외DB통합검색) • Users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification. • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website. ※ Available Time 1) Search: 24 hours 2) Full Text Download: from 4 pm until 9 am the next day
• Type: Database (Dissertations Abstract & Index + Full Text)
• Provider: ProQuest
• Digital Dissertations on Demand(DDOD) is a collection of doctoral dissertations published by top 30 universities in North America since 1999. Searching and reading abstracts are available and 17 million full-text are available to download via RISS.
※ Searching is available for 24 hours via RISS.
※ Full Text downloading is only available from 4 pm until 9 am the next day via RISS web site.
An online open access journal directory that provides access to about 10,000 peer-reviewed journals.
• Type: Open Access Repository (Free, OA Journals)
• Provider: Lund University Libraries
• Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
An integrated platform which includes all EBSCOhost databases
• Type: Database (Abstract & Index, Full Text)
• Provider: EBSCO Information Services
• EBSCOhost is a comprehensive database platform which includes abstracts, indexes and full text of scholarly materials. UNIST members can do integrated search by combining various databases published by EBSCO (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Energy & Power Source, Ergonomics Abstracts, ERIC, PsycARTICLES and eBook Collection, etc.)
A collection of premier reference books in all subjects published by Gale
• Type: Database (Abstract & Index + Full Text)
• Provider: Gale
• Gale Virtual Reference Library offers a collection of premier reference books that you can view and search online.
‘Hakers Online Contents’ includes various classes about learning foreign languages such as English, Chinese, German, French, etc.
• Type: Database (Video) • Subject: Language Learning • Provider: Champstudy • Available about 121 classes • Available to download teaching materials as electronic files (※ Some classes do not provide teaching materials.) • Available to take TOEIC mock exams
A journal evaluation database which provides annually Journal Impact Factor and other indicators
• Type: Database (Journal Evaluation)
• Provider: Clarivate Analytics (formerly known as Thomson Reuters)
• Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a collection of data to evaluate world’s leading journals. It offers 2-year and 5-year Impact Factor, Rank-in-Category tables, Journal Self-Citations, etc. based on citation data. UNIST members can access JCR data from 2007 to the present.
※ Support for Internet Explorer 11 has now been discontinued. If you are currently using Internet Explorer 11, we recommend that you switch to Microsoft Edge or another supported browser.
Available about 980 journals in business, economics, social science, life science, and related subjects published by JSTOR
• Subject: Business, Economics, Life Science, etc.
• Provider: JSTOR
• Available Collections: Business & Economics, Arts & Sciences I, VI, XII, Life Science
• Business & Economics: About 373 journals
• Life Science: About 160 journals
• Arts & Sciences: About 639 journals
Available about 1,900 Korean journals in all subjects published by Korean societies
• Provider: 한국학술정보
• KISS is a journal platform which includes more than 1,900 journals published by Korean societies. UNIST members can get full-text of scholarly materials in all subjects.
English dictionary which is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words from across the English-speaking world
• Type: Database (Dictionary)
• Provider: Oxford University Press
• Online dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
• Subject: All Subjects (Full Collection)
• Oxford University Press is a department of the University of Oxford. It furthers the University’s objective of excellence in research, scholarship, and education by publishing worldwide. The OUP publishes scholarly journals in various fields such as arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics and social sciences. UNIST members can access abot 278 titles form 1996 to the present.
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports, etc. in all subjects
• ProQuest Central is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos. Subject coverages are business and economics, news and world affairs, science, education, technology, humanities, social sciences, psychology, literature, law and women’ s studies, etc.
The world’s most comprehensive bibliographic database of master’s and doctoral dissertations (Available via RISS)
• Available via RISS Platform. (RISS Home > 해외DB통합검색) • Users should access to RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification. • How to access: Clicking 1) database title or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website. ※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day
• Type: Database (Theses Abstract & Index)
• ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) is the world’s most comprehensive collection of master’s and doctoral dissertations published by more than 1,500 academic institutions in North America, Europe, Asia since 1637. Dissertations published from 1997 are available to view first 24 pages.
※ Available only from 4 pm until 9 am the next day via RISS web site.
An integrated search platform of books, journal articles, dissertations and theses, research reports, etc. which are published by Korean universities
* How to access RISS by UNIST direct URL for automatically UNIST user certification -> Clicking 1) RISS in this page or 2) RISS(한국교육학술정보원) at the bottom of the library website.
• Type: Database (Free, Abstract & Index + Full Text)
• Provider: Korea Education and Research Information Service (KERIS)
• RISS(Research Information Sharing Service) is an integrated search platform of books, journal articles, dissertations and theses, research reports, etc. which are published by Korean universities. It is useful site to search korean journals in various fields and dissertations and theses published by Korea graduate schools and also provides intergrated searching for overseas research databases.
A platform that provides general information about journals (including publisher copyright policies and journal publication times), journal ranking (Impact Factor, SJR, and other indicators), a master journal list (SCIE, SCOPUS, KCI, etc.), and a list of predatory journals.
• Type: Journal Information Platform • Subject: All Subject • Provider: Argonet • Contents Details: An integrated journal search service, journal information (general information, publisher copyright policies, journal publication times), journal ranking (Impact Factor, SJR, and other indicators), a master journal list (SCIE, SCOPUS, KCI, etc.), and a list of predatory journals.
Available about 690 journals in all subjects published by SAGE, the world’s 5th largest journals publisher
• Provider: SAGE Publishing
• SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. It includes more than 1000 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions. UNIST members can access more than 690 journals from 1999 to the present.
Available about 2,600 journals in all subjects published by Elsevier, the world’s leading STM publisher
• Provider: Elsevier
• ScienceDirect is the world’s leading full text online platform by global publisher Elsevier. It contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. UNIST members can access more than 2,600 journals.
※ If you cannot access journals on the ScienceDirect platform which you think should be available, please change your web browser or clear your web browser’s cache, cookies and history.
A research performance assessment tool which uses data from Scopus, citation database by Elsevier (User account is required)
All UNIST members need to create an account to access SciVal. – on campus (UNIST IP range), by your UNIST email address – Scopus, ScienceDirect, Reaxys and Mendeley accounts are also available.
• Type: Database (Research analysis)
• SciVal is a research performance assessment tool which uses data from Scopus. It provides more advanced bibliometric measures and it also allows you to benchmark individual researchers, groups of researchers and institutions based on a variety of different metrics.
※ Chrome or Firefox is recommended.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature provided by Elsevier
• Type: Database (Citation Index)
• Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature – scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Available about 1,400 journals in all subjects published the world’s publisher Wiley
• Provider: Wiley
• Wiley Online Library hosts the world’s broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals. The UNIST members can access more than 1,469 journals includes Angewandte Chemie.
Ask a Librarian